Part of castle school education trust

"Castle School Education Trust is committed to high quality education across the primary, secondary and sixth form key stages. Our schools cover the South Gloucestershire area. We encourage independence within each school within a strong framework of values."

Visit Website
Useful Links

Useful Links

Downend

  • Year 6 Parents/Carers - Please visit our Open Events page under 'About Us' for information regarding our Open Events. 

2022/23 prospective students

Open Events

We are delighted to offer the following opportunities for Year 6 pupils and their parent/carer to visit our school for a tour during school hours and/or a presentation and question/answer session with the Head Teacher and Senior Leadership Team colleagues.

Open Morning Tours

These tours will run at 9:10am or 9:30am each morning during term 1.  You will be taken around the school by a senior member of staff who can answer any questions.

Places are limited to 2 visitors per family in order to maximise opportunity to visit.  The tour will last approximately 45mins and as the site comprises a number of different buildings please bring a coat and umbrella if the forecast is unfavourable.

Tours will be available to book from 12pm on Monday 13th September.  To book a tour CLICK HERE

Headteacher Presentation for Prospective Parents

These sessions will offer the opportunity for you to hear the Headteacher present as well as a chance to ask questions.

These sessions are approximately an hour long and will be limited to 150 visitors in our main hall.

Headteacher presentations will be available to book from 12pm on Monday 13th September.   To book a place at the Headteacher Presentations CLICK HERE

These sessions, as well as the tour, are aimed at Year 6 families.  If your child is in a younger year and you would like to visit please be assured that we will be offering opportunities later in the year.

Head Teacher Presentation for Prospective Parents

21st September -  6-7pm

28th September - 11:15am - 12:15pm

30th September - 1:30-2:30pm

7th October - 11:15am - 12:15pm

5th October - 6-7pm

19th October - 6-7pm

 

Transition 2021-22 (for Students joining downend in September 2021)

Here you will find all the information relating to the transition of students from Y6 Primary School to Y7 at Downend School.  This will be updated throughout June and July so please come back to check for new information.

Information from Parents Evening 05/07/21.  Please find below a link to the introductory video from Miss Prowle and the slides from the Meet the Tutor parents meeting.  Contact details for your child's tutor and Head of House can also be found here. 

//www.youtube.com/embed/WA_ZauzIk1I

Year 6 Parents Transition Presentation 

Year 6 - Meet the Tutor evening

//www.youtube.com/embed/9jSd6JbjLz8

 

//www.youtube.com/embed/jOutJpFzmFE

 

Group

Tutor

Email

7B1

Miss F Allen

Fran.Allen@cset.co.uk 

7B2

Miss J Davies

Jenna.Davies@cset.co.uk 

7C1

Miss V Say/Mrs L Lawrence

Lizzy.Lawrence@cset.co.uk

Vicky.Say@cset.co.uk (from Sept)

7C2

Miss C Buttle

Carly.Buttle@cset.co.uk 

7G1

Mrs C Burr/Mrs L Olejnik

Claire.Burr@cset.co.uk / louise.Olejnik@cset.co.uk 

7G2

Ms C De Buitlear

Caoilfhionn.debuitle@cset.co.uk 

7M1

Mr L Dansault

Laurent.Dansault@cset.co.uk 

7M2

Mr M Benjamin

William.Benjamin@cset.co.uk 

 

Head of Grace House & Senior Head of House

Mrs P Keegan

Pam.Keegan@cset.co.uk

Head of Brunel House

Mrs S Kaur

Sonia.Kaur@cset.co.uk

Head of Muller House

Mrs S Davey

Sharon.Davey@cset.co.uk

Head of Carpenter House

Mr A Newman

Aston.Newman@cset.co.uk

 FAQs for Students

Please find below the data forms related to the letter sent to all Y6 parents in June.  Copies need to be returned to dow-transition@cset.co.uk by 2nd July.

 

Below are FAQ for parents and also SEN FAQs. Please send any queries or questions to our dedicated email address; dow-transition@cset.co.uk

Show list Show Grid

in-year admissions (applications during the school year)

If you have moved to the local ares during the school year or already live in South Gloucestershire and wish to move your child to a different school, please contact Downend School on 01454 862300 or email dow-admin@cset.co.uk

More information for in-year applications within South Gloucestershire Local Authority area is available at:

South Gloucestershire - Secondary School Admissions